Yongnuo YN 560-III and RF-602 (aka RF-600TX)

I recently received in the post a very happy making off-camera flash (YN560-III), but getting it to work with the wireless trigger (RF-600TX) that came with the unit took me ages.

My first concern was that the trigger they’d provided was incorrect. They said they’d provide an RF-602, but what came in the mail was an RF-600TX. It turns out the RF-600TX is an “updated” version of the 602: the PC port has been removed, but it’s otherwise the same thing.

Next I wondered if one of the units might be broken; I’d looked at videos on the internet that showed connecting the Speedlite to the trigger was a brain-dead-simple plug-it-in process. But the two I had just didn’t work. I did read the manual, but let’s just say English wasn’t the first language of the author.

Finally, I found the critical bit of information in the middle of a video describing the flash. It also, for your information, appears on one of the last pages of the manual, page 48:

  • Simultaneously press both of the two left-most buttons (the “music” button and the “mode” button). This takes you to an advanced menu. It probably displays “SL EP on”.
  • Press the up arrow twice. It should now display “rF 60 3”.
  • Press the left arrow. It should now display “rF 60 2”.
  • Press the middle “ok” button.

Now, you’ll find that the button on the wireless trigger will fire the flash. It will also work when connected to the hot shoe of your camera. Problem solved!

32 thoughts on “Yongnuo YN 560-III and RF-602 (aka RF-600TX)

  1. Hi,

    Just FYI: You’ll also need to know, that you can NOT set the trigger to send on all channels. I initially thought my trigger was an old obsolete model (RF-600TX), which was incompatible with the flash, because I got no reaction from the flash at first. You have to pick a single channel or else the flash will ignore the trigger – the RF-602RX works fine though if You set the trigger send on all channels. Works great when I set the trigger to channel 1.

    1. You’re quite right, the channel on the flash needs to be the same as that of the trigger. The flash’s channel is set on screen and the trigger’s channel is set with the four dip switches. However the default settings mean that the camera and trigger are both on channel one, so that part should work out of the box.

      1. My trigger was set to “all channels” to default (all pins upwards). I thought that that would be ideal, so I didn’t have to fiddle with the channel settings in the flash units. As it turns out the “all channels” setting is only working on the receiver units, and not on the flashses.

  2. Dead set champion. Thank you. Though this is a fundamental setting, I feel it should be clearly communicated in the “literature”. How hard is it to get relevant information and an accuarate translation!!??

  3. All gods bless you my friend, 4 months using 2 flashes in slave mode, jaja, my best wishes for you

  4. Thanks so much for posting this! I just randomly stumbled upon this and i finally got my flash/controller combo working properly 🙂

Leave a comment